Back to the top

Band members

Band members

Ayac Iuan Jiménez Salvador
Ayac Iuan Jiménez Salvador
Trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals, electronics

Chances are extremely high to encounter him drinking a cup of tea. And the pleasure of such a cup of his favorite beverage is a very evident assemblage of some of his passions. Subtlety, reflecting, taking time, savoring, euphoriant ... From an early age on, he developed his passion for carefully tracking down hidden connections; seeking out the things that are somehow different and less obvious. Therefore, he loves to delve into all kinds of different areas and incorporate them into his creative work in unforeseeable ways. Seen against this background, his studying biology and the Feldenkrais Method fit right in.

Thomas Winalek
Thomas Winalek
Trombone, bass trumpet, vocals

Thomas Winalek was almost predestined to become a musician, considering that his parents and actually his entire extended family are full-blooded musicians. This is the reason why basically half of the Zellerndorf marching band consists of the “Winalek-Schneider clan”. At the age of 6, he started playing the soprano recorder and later alto recorder. This constituted the foun-dation of his enthusiasm for wind instruments. While at first, he followed the path of a trumpeter’s career, he quickly fell in love with the lower brass instru-ments and eventually learned to play the alto horn followed by the trombone. The latter he studied at the Vienna music university, he graduated in March 2015. Any kind of music can cause him to turn up the volume of his car stereo on full blast, much to his passengers’ discomfort. Thomas also likes to pick up the tennis racket. But if he is losing a game, the otherwise so positive and pleasant fellow can get quite angry and stubborn. This, however, does not happen with his colleagues from Federspiel where he remains undefeated.

Matthias Werner
Matthias Werner
Trombone, vocals

“Music is the art to think in sounds”: And this is what Matthias Werner has been doing at least since his kindergarten days. At the tender age of 5, he started playing the recorder – the epitome of starting instruments. With time, both his interest and the instrument grew – about 3 years later, it had become bigger than the boy himself – from that time on it had to be the trombone of all instruments. But how can a boy that petite handle an instrument that is two heads taller than the boy himself? With an acrobatic trick, of course! His teacher at the time knotted a string to the main slide of the trombone and whenever his arm was too short to hit the right note, little Matthias gave the lengthy trombone slider a confident push forward and pulled it back with the string just as energetically. Meanwhile, the resourceful little guy has turned into a serious composer, singer and trombonist who can practice and realize all of his talents among other things at Federspiel.

Philip Haas
Philip Haas
Trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals

In 1987, Philipp bestowed a Christmas present upon his mother that turned out to be non-returnable for life. After a first good look at this strapper, how-ever, the desire to exchange him would have certainly been obsolete anyway – and since then, he has been living ultimately situative. Philip avoids the subjunctive and feeling depressive, is always positive and cuddling-intensive. His classes are not only demonstrative, but above all innovative and sensitive, and he is rarely using the imperative which would mostly be deconstructive instead of stimulative. As an alternative, at concerts – when feeling impulsive – he likes to grab the microphone and get communicative – in ways that are creative and qualitative, not in the slightest naive. If something’s skew-whiff, he does not get aggressive but rather cooperative and contemplative. For some time now, Philip has also been quite active and sportive, driving the daily grind out of its mind. All in all, a true superlative – not only decorative, but in many ways attractive and most definitely not at all fictive.

Roland Eitzinger
Roland Eitzinger
Tuba, vocals

Roland was born on a cold winter's night in Salzburg. This is probably why he is especially fond of Christmas and winter time. The early riser usually spends his mornings with his tuba playing his solemn, lyrical, cantabile warm-up exercises. Even though his sense of direction could be described as less than perfect, he managed to find his way to the metropolis Munich to obtain his degree for tuba at the University of Music and Performing Arts. He completed his master’s degree at the Anton Bruckner University in Linz.

Simon Zöchbauer

Simon Zöchbauer

Trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet, zither, vocals, composition

Simon Zöchbauer not only is a formidable musician, he also is a very playful spirit. And since those two things go together particularly well, the trumpeter who graduated from the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna gets to live out his ludic drive not only on various ping-pong tables, skateboards and frisbees but also in several music projects where he roams quite diverse worlds of sound: With Federspiel, he progressively expands the limits of traditional sound landscapes while with the Ramsch & Rosen quartet together with Julia Lacherstorfer (violin), David Six (piano) and Lukas Kranzelbinder (contrabass), he is working on the experimental commingling of traditional music with improvisation and jazz. And then there is also his solo project – debut album out in 2019! – which shows a whole new facet of his work: With compositions for string quartet that are as subtle as they are profound, he unperturbedly follows his urge to seek self-awareness – which means that next to electronical sounds also sacral music plays an important role. But that’s not all – also aside from making music himself, Simon engages in music-related activities: At the wellenklænge festival in Lunz am See, he – together with Julia Lacherstorfer – is responsible for the artistic program and furthermore created a new workshop for composition, improvisation and sound art; this means he is also dedicated to the training and further education of the performing youth.

Frédéric-Alvarado-Dupuy
Frédéric Alvarado-Dupuy
Clarinet, vocals

Frédéric Alvarado-Dupuy, born in Vienna, is a clarinetist with passion. Despite following master programs for classic clarinet in Vienna and Utrecht/NL, he does not draw a line between Early and New Music, folk music and avantgarde, because anything that is good, anything that he likes – he will simply play. With Federspiel, he does so on the great stages in Austria and abroad, and with his friends often in the next best tavern. And if nothing quite fits the occasion, he also likes to write his own music or teach young ensembles at the Music and Arts University of the City of Vienna.

Back to the top

Bandmitglieder

Bandmitglieder

Ayac Iuan Jiménez Salvador
Ayac Iuan Jiménez Salvador
Trompete, Flügelhorn, Gesang, Elektronik

Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, Ayac Iuan Jimenez-Salvador beim Tee trinken anzutreffen, ist überdurchschnittlich hoch. Da ist es kein Wunder, dass der Genuss einer solchen Tasse auch einiges über seine Vorlieben verrät: subtil, reflektierend, sich Zeit nehmend, genießend und euphorisierend entwickelte er schon in jungen Jahren eine Leidenschaft dafür, versteckten Zusammenhängen geduldig nachzuspüren; dabei Unterschiedliches und weniger offensichtliches ausfindig zu machen. Deshalb liebt er es auch, sich mit den verschiedensten Bereichen intensiv auseinanderzusetzen und diese auf unvorhersehbare Art und Weise in sein Schaffen einfließen zu lassen. Das Studium der Biologie und der Feldenkrais Methode sind wohl am ehesten so zu verstehen.

Thomas Winalek
Thomas Winalek
Posaune, Basstrompete, Gesang

Thomas Winalek wurde die Musik bereits in die Wiege gelegt, sind doch seine Eltern und eigentlich die ganze Großfamilie Vollblutmusiker – daher besteht auch ungefähr die Hälfte der Zellerndorfer Musikkapelle aus dem „Winalek-Schneider-Clan“. Mit 6 Jahren begann er Sopranblockflöte, dann später Altblockflöte zu spielen. Damit wurde der Grundstein für seine Begeisterung für Blasinstrumente gelegt. Die zunächst eingeschlagene Trompeter-Karriere endete allerdings schnell, als Thomas sich in die tiefen Blechblasinstrumente verliebte und erst Tenorhorn, dann schließlich Posaune lernte. Letzteres tat er an der Musikuniversität in Wien, wo er sein Studium im März 2015 erfolgreich abschloss.Wenn er gerade nicht selbst spielt, liebt er es, das Autoradio bei jeder Art von Musik in seiner vollen Lautstärke auszunutzen – ganz zum Leidtragen der Mitfahrenden. Außerdem greift er auch sehr gerne zum Tennisschläger. Bei einer verlorenen Partie kann der sonst so positive und gemütliche Geselle auch schon mal ganz schön wütend und verbissen werden. Aber das passiert ihm nicht mit seinen Kollegen von Federspiel, denn da ist er bis dato ungeschlagen.

Matthias Werner
Matthias Werner
Posaune, Gesang

"Musik ist die Kunst in Tönen zu denken“, meint Matthias Werner – und genau das tut er auch bereits seit dem Kindergartenalter: Gerade einmal 5 Jahre alt, begann er Flöte zu spielen - das Einstiegsinstrument schlechthin. Mit dem Alter wuchs nicht nur das Interesse, sondern auch das Instrument – knapp 3 Jahre später war dieses sogar größer als er selbst – ausgerechnet eine Posaune sollte es fortan sein. Doch wie kann so ein zierlicher Bub ein Instrument bedienen, das zwei Köpfe größer ist als er? Mit einem akrobatischen Trick natürlich! Am Zug der Posaune knotete seine damalige Lehrerin eine Schnur und immer wenn der Arm für den richtigen Ton zu kurz wurde – schubste der kleine Matthias den überlangen Posaunenschlitten mit kräftigem Schwung nach vorn und holte ihn mit der Schnur ebenso schwungvoll wieder retour. Mittlerweile ist aus dem findigen kleinen Kerlchen ein ernstzunehmender Komponist, Sänger und Posaunist geworden, der alle diese Begabungen unter anderem bei Federspiel ausleben kann.

Philip Haas
Philip Haas
Trompete, Flügelhorn, Gesang

Geboren kurz nach Heiligabend 1987, bescherte Philip Haas seiner Mutter ein Weihnachtsgeschenk, das auf Lebzeiten vom Umtausch ausgeschlossen sein sollte – denn wer würde schon einen so strammen kleinen Jungen zurückgeben wollen? Seit damals lebt er ultimativ situativ, meidet den Konjunktiv genauso wie das Stimmungstief, ist immer positiv und ein Schmuseviech. Im Unterricht mit seinen Schülern agiert er nicht nur demonstrativ, sondern vor allem innovativ und sensitiv, selten destruktiv mit Imperativ, stattdessen lieber inspirativ. Alternativ greift er in Konzerten gern zum Mikrofon-Stativ und agiert dann eher kommunikativ - und das ultimativ kreativ. Läuft mal was schief, ist er statt aggressiv eher kooperativ und kontemplativ. Alles in allem ein wahrer Superlativ – nicht nur dekorativ, sondern durchwegs attraktiv.

Roland Eitzinger
Roland Eitzinger
Tuba, Gesang

Roland Eitzinger, geboren in einer kalten Winternacht in Salzburg. Vermutlich auch deshalb Liebhaber der Weihnachts-, und Winterzeit. Frühaufsteher, verbringt dann die Zeit am Morgen meistens mit seiner Tuba und getragenen, lyrischen, kantablen Einspielübungen und Etüden. Trotz seines nicht unbedingt voll ausgeprägten Orientierungssinnes fand er den Weg in die Großstadt München, um dort sein Diplom an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater auf der Tuba zu machen. Sein Masterstudium absolvierte er an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz.

Simon Zöchbauer

Simon Zöchbauer

Trompete, Flügelhorn, Piccolo Trompete, Zither, Gesang, Komposition

Simon Zöchbauer ist nicht nur ein formidabler Musiker, sondern auch ein ziemlich verspielter Geist. Und da beides natürlich gut zusammen passt, stillt der an der Wiener Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst ausgebildete Trompeter seinen Spieltrieb nicht nur an allerlei Tischtennisplatten, Skateboards und Frisbees, sondern auch in gleich mehreren Musikprojekten, mit denen er ganz unterschiedliche Klangwelten bereist: Bei Federspiel hilft er bei der progressiven Grenzerweiterung Traditions-bezogener Klanglandschaften, während er mit Julia Lacherstorfer (Violine), David Six (Klavier) und Lukas Kranzelbinder (Kontrabass) im Ramsch & Rosen-Quartett an der experimentellen Vermengung von traditioneller Musik mit Improvisation und Jazz arbeitet. Und dann ist da noch sein Solo-Projekt – Albumdebüt 2019! – das eine ganz eigenständige Facette seines Schaffens zeigt: Mit so fein- wie tiefsinnigen Kompositionen für Streichquartett geht er hier ungehemmt seinem Drang nach Selbsterkenntnis nach – was bedeutet, dass neben elektronischen Klängen auch sakrale Musik eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Damit nicht genug, ist Simon auch abseits des aktiven Musizierens musikalisch tätig: Beim wellenklænge-Festival in Lunz am See gestaltet er zusammen mit Julia Lacherstorfer nicht nur das künstlerische Programm, sondern rief auch einen neuen Workshop für Komposition, Improvisation und Klangkunst ins Leben und widmet sich somit auch der Aus- und Fortbildung des spielenden Nachwuchses.

Frédéric-Alvarado-Dupuy
Frédéric Alvarado-Dupuy
Klarinette, Gesang

Frédéric Alvarado-Dupuy, geboren in Wien, ist Klarinettist mit Leidenschaft. Trotz seines Masterstudiums der klassischen Klarinette in Wien und Utrecht/NL zieht er keine Grenze zwischen Alter oder Neuer Musik, Volksmusik oder Avantgarde, denn alles was gut ist und ihm gefällt, das spielt er. Mit Federspiel auf den großen Bühnen im In,- und Ausland, und mit anderen Freunden im Wirtshaus. Und wenn ge-rade nichts Passendes zu finden ist, schreibt er auch mal seine eigene Musik oder unterrichtet junge Ensembles an der MUK in Wien.